Election Central 2011: Allegheny County Row Offices, Court Races

Former state legislator Chelsa Wagner easily wins a first term as county controller; Alexander Bicket and Michael Marmo win seats on the Common Pleas Court bench, according to unofficial results from the Allegheny County Elections Bureau.

All vote totals are unofficial until certified by the Allegheny County Elections Bureau but are based on 100 percent of precincts reporting.

County Controller

Democrat Chelsa Wagner, a state legislator from Brookline, easily defeated Robert Howard of Marshall, drawing nearly twice as many votes to win her first term as Allegheny County Controller.

Wagner, a business analyst and attorney, most recently has served as the state representative for the 22nd District in the South Hills. A member of a politically active family, she defeated Howard, a former North Allegheny school director, to win her first term in county office.

Wagner won her spot on the general election ballot after defeating primary-election Democratic challengers George Matta, a former clerk of Allegheny County Common Pleas Court, of White Oak; and Valerie McDonald Roberts, a former Pittsburgh school board and city council member, former county recorder of deeds and former manager of the county real estate department, of Churchill.

She replaces Mark Patrick Flaherty of Mt. Lebanon, who ran an unsuccessful primary-election campaign for county executive.


Candidate Number of Precincts Votes Chelsa Wagner 1,319 of 1,339
138,334, or 61.80 percent
Robert Howard 1,319 of 1,319 85,289, or 38.10 percent
Write-in 1,319 of 1,319 212, or 0.09 percent



District Attorney

Democratic incumbent Stephen A. Zappala Jr. won re-election in an uncontested race. With votes counted from 100 percent of county precincts, the attorney from Fox Chapel drew 180,903 votes, or 98.1 percent of the votes cast. Write-in candidates have drawn 3,496 votes, or 1.9 percent of the votes cast.


Candidate Number of Precincts Votes Stephen A. Zappala Jr. 1,319 of 1,319 180,903, or 98.1 percent Write-ins 1,319 of 1,319 3,496, or 1.9 percent



County Treasurer

Democratic incumbent John K. Weinstein, of Kennedy, defeated Republican challenger C. Edward Pfeifer, of Shadyside. With 100 percent of 1,319 county precincts counted, Weinstein drew 151,860 votes, or 67.27 percent, to Pfeifer's 73,693 votes, or 32.64 percent.


Candidate Number of Precincts Votes John K. Weinstein 1,319 of 1,319
151,860, or 67.27 percent
C. Edward Pfeifer 1,319 of 1,319
73,693, or 32.64 percent



County Council At-Large

With 95 percent of precincts counted, Republican candidate Heather Heidelbaugh, a Mt. Lebanon attorney, and incumbent Democrat John P. DeFazio, a union official and former professional wrestler from Shaler, have won at-large seats on Allegheny County Council.


Candidate Number of Precincts Votes Heather Heidelbaugh 1,319 of 1,319 87,773, or 39.6 percent
John DeFazio 1,319 of 1,319 133,536, or 60.25 percent


Heidelbaugh also won an uncontested race to fill the balance of an unexpired term that ends this year, gathering 133,824 votes, or 39.6 percent. Write-in candidates drew 2,499 votes, or 1.83 percent.


Candidate Number of Precincts Votes Heather Heidelbaugh 1,319 of 1,319 133,824 or 39.6 percent Write-ins 1,319 of 1,319 1.83 percent


County Council District 2

This district includes Bell Acres, Sewickley Heights and Sewickley Hills, as well as Bradford Woods, Franklin Park, Hampton, Marshall, McCandless, Ohio Township, Pine, Richland and West Deer.

Republican candidate and incumbent Jan Rea, of McCandless, ran unopposed. She has been a member of county council since 2000.


Candidate Number of Precincts Votes Jan Rea 79 of 79 14,999, or 99.23 percent
Write-ins 79 of 79 122, or 0.79 percent


Common Pleas Court

Two candidates have won election to their first terms on the county Common Pleas Court bench after running on the Republican and Democratic ballots.


Candidate Number of Precincts Votes Alexander P. Bicket 1,319 of 1,319
153,407, or 46.63 percent
Michael Marmo 1,319 of 1,319
174,280, or 52.97 percent


Voters also approved new 10-year terms for five sitting Common Pleas judges in a retention election, including.

  • David R. Cashman
  • Kathleen A. Durkin
  • Michael A. Della Vecchia
  • Guido A. DeAngelis
  • Randal Todd


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »